UA to Host Regional Science Olympiad

Tuscaloosa, Ala.—More than 600 students are expected to participate in the 2018 Regional Science Olympiad competition at The University of Alabama Saturday, Feb. 24, beginning at 8 a.m.

Science Olympiad is an international non-profit organization founded in 1982 that promotes teamwork in disciplines of life science, earth and space science, physical science, chemistry, technology and engineering among elementary, middle and high-school students.

The regional competition for middle and high-school students, hosted by UA, is just one of many to take place across the country. Winners advance to compete in the state and national competitions.  More than 12,000 schools from all 50 states participate in Science Olympiad events each year.

Events scheduled for the middle school students include anatomy, ecology, experimental design, hovercraft, optics, thermodynamics and more.

In the high-school division, students can compete in forensics, hovercraft, herpetology, thermodynamics, towers and more.

The events will conclude with two awards presentations at 3:15 p.m. in the Ferguson Center Theatre and the ballroom in the Ferguson Center.

For more information, visit

Alabama schools that have registered to participate in this year’s event include Baldwin Arts and Academics Magnet, Berry Middle School, Beverlye Magnet School, Brewton Middle School, Hewitt-Trussville Middle School, Jefferson County IB Middle School, Lee-Scott Academy, Our Lady of the Valley, Pelham Park Middle School,  Restoration Academy, Saint James School, Trinity Presbyterian, West Alabama Christian School, Brewbaker Technology Magnet, B.B. Comer Memorial High School, Center Point High School, Clay-Chalkville High School, Helena High School, Hewitt-Trussville High School, Horseshoe Bend High School, Jefferson County IB High School, John Carroll Catholic, Lamp Magnet High School, Leeds High School, McAdory High School, Meek High School, Minor High School, Muscle Shoals High School, Oak Mountain High School, Pleasant Grove High School, Prattville High School and Vestavia Hills High School.

UA’s College of Arts and Sciences and the College of Engineering are co-hosting the competition.